top of page
Search

Why Do I Need a Wedding Planner?

It's 2021 and we have the internet, so why would you ever need someone to help you plan your wedding?


It may seem unrealistic and out of your budget to hire a planner, but really, it should be a necessity. Wedding planners can take care of a variety of tasks that actually save you time AND money, and with a bit of searching also won't break the bank.


There are many reasons why wedding planners are a good idea, but today I'm just going to highlight what are, in my opinion, 7 of the top reasons...


 

Reason # 1

Have you ever seen a wedding planner's day-of kit? Whether I'm attending a wedding as a full on planner or just as a day of coordinator, I come EQUIPPED. Hell, I carry around a roll of extra white tulle. Why? Because things go wrong!


We have been to many weddings and can predict what you may need. Last weekend I did a wedding in 40 degree weather, outdoors, and I packed an entire package of blotting papers. I've never seen so many ladies faces light up.


As brides, we think we have everything covered.. But our brains are so wrapped up in the big details (seating, food, attire, etc) that it is easy to slip up on the smaller details. Wedding planners prepare for things to go wrong so you don't have to worry that you forgot to pick up boutonniere pins (because yes, I carry those too).



 

Reason # 2

I can't tell you the number of times I've shown up to an event thinking I've given myself TONS of time to get things ready, only to find that 2 hours gets eaten up answering questions from other vendors.


Vendors are always trying to make things perfect during your special day. Your DJ wants the perfect sound to get people dancing, your live musicians need the ideal area for acoustics and your bartender needs to know what time you want that surprise round of shots ready for. Without a planner, all of these questions tend to go to the bride or groom and make it hard for them to relax and have fun. A planner takes this role on. We show up early to greet the vendors you have hired, ensure they are set up and answer all the questions they have while getting ready. We work hard with our couples to ensure that we fully understand their vision in advance so that we don't have to constantly interrupt their day with questions.


 

Reason # 3

Understanding contracts as proven to be more important with the pandemic than ever. Many couples booked venues without truly understanding the contract they were signing and, when they could not hold their wedding as planned, were left frustrated and disappointed with the terms they agreed to unwittingly.


I have read countless contracts with a variety of vendors and have learned what is standard for a wedding contract. Is a gratuity included or are you expected to tip at the end of the night? If a pandemic happens again, is it covered under the "acts of God" clause? If you need to cancel can you get your money back or are you able to sell your deposit? We can ensure that you understand exactly what your vendors are offering you before you sign.


 

Reason # 4

You aren't around during cocktail hour. Most couples are off taking photos with the bridal party, so who is watching over your guests? Is there someone to direct and welcome them to the reception, ensure the bartender is set up to start serving or direct guests to the washroom? If your venue comes with a day of coordinator, this doesn't apply but for those hosting a wedding in a backyard or venue without coordinator, this is something you will really want to think about when considering a wedding planner.


For couples that are using the same space for ceremony and reception, who is changing over your decor and tables for dinner or cocktails? Having someone not involved in the wedding as a guest or bridal party member is essential for ensuring the turn-over goes smoothly.



 

Reason # 5

Admit it, you've spent hours scrolling on pinterest creating boards of wedding ideas and then went back to look at it only to realize that none of the ideas you saved are the same style. #Guilty.


When you get engaged you are filled with excitement and it is so easy to get lost in the millions of perfectly curated images pinterest puts at your fingertips. You love the idea of a flower wall, only to realize that it would cost $1000 to create the one you want. It can be an emotional rollar coaster that leads to you avoiding planning your wedding and feeling overwhelmed.


One practice I really like to do with my clients is have them describe in words what they want for their wedding. Colours, style, atmosphere, anything they can think of. I take that information and start to compile ideas based on what they've told me and then can send a "lookbook" of ideas. It's like their very own pinterest board, except the things I've included are within budget and actually attainable...


I've also been to weddings and have seen way more that what you will find on pinterest. Some of my favourite ideas have been inspired by weddings I've attended as opposed to pinterest. Planners have a wealth of ideas they have seen elsewhere that we'd love to help you implement for your special day.



 

Reason # 6


So many brides spend hours online trying to find vendors for their weddings. Facebook groups are great but sometimes the feedback is so mixed you still don't know who to book. Planners have had the chance to network and work with many vendors in the community. We know who has a good reputation and who we can rely on. This can save you hours of time and ensure that you book someone you can trust.



 

Reason # 7

I always ask my clients if there are conflicts I should be aware of when we first start planning. Sometimes our families mean well but cause stress trying to give opinions and other times we are worried about that third cousin having a little too much fun at the reception.


Whatever your concern, voice it to your planner! We can be on the lookout for problematic situations and diffuse them before you notice a thing. I have no problem calling my client's mother to tell her that she can only invite 2 friends when she wanted to invite 30 or calling a member of the bridal party who is causing drama. We can act as a buffer to keep drama away from your wedding day.


 

There are so many reasons that you should hire a wedding planner and I'm not just saying that as a planner myself. When I got married, I decided that since it was my job to plan weddings I could do everything myself. Big mistake. I had planned the day down to the minute, but had no one to keep us on schedule. I wish I had hired a day of coordinator at the minimum to ensure we had time for everything I had planned. Regardless it was a great day and yours will be too.


If you want to talk more about wedding planning and how I can help you, book a consultation now!


















5 views0 comments
bottom of page